Bespoke work / charity

You CAN have your cake and eat it too!

Who is it that said ‘you can’t have your cake and eat it too‘?

Surely not Aura Rosa Cakes & Patisserie owners Jason and Gio who are the winners of this year’s charity fundraiser and jewellery prize draw for my Black Serpent cocktail necklace! (See Two Quid for a Serpent blog post)

Bespoke cake makers 'Aura Rosa' signature cake named in memory of Gio's mother. This contains two of the flavours that she loved. Passion fruit and raspberries.

Bespoke cake makers ‘Aura Rosa’ signature cake named in memory of Gio’s grandmother. This contains two of the flavours that she loved. Passion fruit and raspberries.

Food meets fashion accessory

This is bliss folks, where cake and jewellery coalesce into one harmonious melody – sweet music to my ears. So congratulations to Jason and Gio who donated at my official fundraising launch for Cancer Research UK on 8 March at Penny Fielding Gallery in Walthamstow – which also happens to be home to Aura Rosa’s scrumpciously divine cake business.

Congrats Aura Rosa!

Congrats Aura Rosa!

The results

I’m thrilled to say that donations surpassed this year’s target amount once again! We raised £436 (the target was £350) in a combination of online donations to my JustGiving webpage and cash donations amassed at the launch on International Women’s Day at Penny Fielding Gallery, as well as on location at the Cancer Research UK charity shop on Marylebone High Street where the Black Serpent necklace was displayed from 11 March until Mother’s Day.

The prize draw took place in the shop itself with the kind help of shop assistants Rinku and Fatima.

The lovely ladies of the Cancer Research UK charity shop!

The lovely ladies at the Cancer Research UK charity shop!

And ilanaDesign’s first video was born…

With ample choices of foodie hotspots, Marylebone High Street was abuzz with mums and their children taking them out for Mother’s Day celebrations and the Cancer Research UK charity shop was not at a loss for customers either! Women fluttering about, arms flailing in and out of racks selecting little gems to try on. I was there too, but for a different reason. I was there to find out who won the Black Serpent cocktail necklace and here’s how it unfolded…

My little secret

I actually did go away with my own little prize too (I couldn’t resist the fetching selection of clothes they have)! So I leave you with a little glimpse of my pink gingham piece of preciousness…

My little prize!

My little prize!

 

Leave a Reply

